Special offer : free shipping for any order of 500€ or more on our online shop (France only)

The Cave de Bonnieux, A human adventure

The Cave de Bonnieux, founded in 1920 by a few winemakers determined to collectively manage their production capacities, was the first cooperative winery in the Vaucluse region which permitted them to naturally call their flagship brand "La Doyenne". This is an ongoing adventure which is enriched by its experience over the years. It is, in this vein, able to suggest to you its best selections.

Between the Luberon and Ventoux :
Our Winery has the special ability to offer you these two appellations "Luberon AC" and "Ventoux AC" products from different "Terroirs", giving each wine a typicity and character that is drawn from the deepest part of their roots.

Situated in the heart of the Luberon Regional Natural park reserve, the Cave de Bonnieux is well established in environmental protection as since 1996 is equipped with an autonomous water treatment plant that guarantees that there is absolutely no pollution discharge into the natural environment. As well the winegrowers practice reasoned cultural management in their vineyards so as to preserve the harmony and balance of the ecosystem.


The Cave de Bonnieux Terroirs :
The prized location of the vineyards of the Cave de Bonnieux, between the Haute Provence and the Rhone Valley, allows them to benefit from wide variety of both its soils and its vineyard exposition. The vines are harmonious neighbors to cherry and olive trees. Its territory is spread out throughout Bonnieux and adjacent regions (Goult, Roussillon, Lacoste, Gordes) and in some parts the Calavon, the meandering affluent of the Durance river.

To the north is the Ventoux AC that alternates between gently rolling slopes and hillsides. The soils are varied often with ochre coloured sand around the Roussilon area. The vineyards also benefit from the directly south facing slopes of marly, gray Gargassian clay and limestone. To the south the hillsides are the prime growing area of the Luberon AC. Sometimes one can find the odd ochre coloured layers but the clayey-sandy soils on planted terraces are what predominate. This is the result of the erosion of the Lacoste cliffs (and it reputable stone) or of the Caparèdes plateau, kingdom of the lavender bushes and its "truffle oak trees" just beside Bonnieux. It is this variety together with the precisely appropriate and caring labour of the vines that gives off the aromatic expression so recognizable and well regarded in our wines.

It varies from 35,000 to 40,000 hectoliters depending on the vintage.

The appelation breakdown is the following :
35 % Luberon AC
35 % Ventoux AC
25 % Vin de Pays
5 % Table wine

The whites and the rosés are vinified at low temperatures after the racking of the must and maceration of the skins depending on the grape variety and the health of the grapes. The reds are vinified using traditional methods with the duration of maceration depending on the type of wine we are looking for. Some of our wines are then aged for several months in our barrel cellar. It is an underground cellar that permits virtually a constant temperature throughout the year which ensures optimal ageing.

Offre spéciale : port offert pour 500€ de commande vers la France sur notre boutique en ligne

La cave de Bonnieux, une aventure humaine

La cave de Bonnieux créee en 1920 par quelques vignerons déterminés à mettre en commun leurs moyens de production fut la première du département de Vaucluse donnant naturellement naissance à une de nos marques " La Doyenne ". Cette aventure se perpétue, enrichie de son expérience. Elle est à même de vous proposer ses meilleures sélections.

Entre Luberon et Ventoux :
Notre cave a la particularité de pouvoir vous offrir ses 2 appelations " A.O.C. Luberon " et " A.O.C. Ventoux " produits sur des terroirs différents, conférant à chaque vin typicité et caractère puisés au plus profond de leurs racines.

Située au coeur du Parc Naturel Régional du Luberon la cave s'inscrit dans le respect de son environnement puisqu'elle s'est équipée en 1996 d'une station autonome de traitement des effluents vinicoles garantissant aucun rejet polluant dans le milieu naturel. De même les vignerons sont engagés dans la lutte raisonnée du vignoble préservant au mieux l'harmonie et l'équilibre environnemental.


Terroirs de la cave de Bonnieux :
La situation privilégiée des vignobles de la cave de Bonnieux, entre Haute Provence et Vallée du Rhône, lui permet de bénéficier de conditions variées tant au niveau des sols que des expositions. La vigne y alterne harmonieusement avec les cerisiers et les oliviers. Son territoire s'étend sur Bonnieux et quelques communes limitrophes (Goult, Roussillon, Lacoste, Gordes) de part et d'autre du Calavon, paisible affluent de la Durance.

Au Nord, s'étale l'aire de l'A.O.C Ventoux avec son alternance de collines aux pentes plus ou moins douces. Les sols y sont variés avec les sables ocreux caractéristiques autour de Roussillon. Les vignobles y apprécient également les pentes exposées plein sud sur marnes (argilo-calcaires) grises du Gargassien. Au sud, le coteau est la zone de prédilection de l'aire A.O.C Luberon. Si on retrouve quelques placage ocreux, les sols argilo-sableux souvent sous forme de terrasses prédominent. Ils sont issus de l'érosion de falaises de Lacoste (et sa pierre réputée) ou du plateau des Claparèdes, royaume de la lavande et des chênes truffiers, juste derrière Bonnieux. C'est cette variété associée à un travail adapté et soigné du vigneron qui permet l'expression si caractéristique de nos vins.

Elle varie de 35 000
40 000 hl suivant les années.

La répartition se fait ainsi :
35 % AOC Luberon
35 % AOC Ventoux
25 % Vin de Pays
5 % Vin de Table

Les Blancs et les Rosés sont vinifiés à basse température après débourbage des moûts et macération pelliculaire suivant les cépages et l'état sanitaire des raisins. Les rouges sont élaborés en vinification traditionnelle avec des macérations plus ou moins longues suivant le produit recherché. Certains de nos vins sont ensuite élevés pendant plusieurs mois dans notre chai à barriques. Se situant en sous-sol, ce chai permet d'avoir une température quasi constante tout au long de l'année garantissant un élevage optimum.